Air Bubble Agreement South Asian Countries

The air bubble agreement between South Asian countries has come as a relief for the travel industry, which has been hit hard by the COVID-19 pandemic. This agreement allows for a limited number of flights between two countries, which are considered safe and have a low number of COVID-19 cases.

Under this agreement, India has formed air bubble arrangements with several countries including Bangladesh, Afghanistan, Bhutan, Maldives, Nepal, and Sri Lanka. This has allowed for the resumption of some international flights, which had been suspended earlier due to the pandemic.

The air bubble agreement has brought some much-needed relief to people who were stranded in other countries, due to the sudden suspension of international flights in March 2020. Thousands of travelers who were stuck in the Middle East, Europe and South Asia were repatriated under the Vande Bharat Mission, which was launched by the Indian government to bring back stranded Indian citizens.

The air bubble agreement has also helped the aviation industry, which has been one of the worst-hit industries due to the pandemic. It has given some hope to airlines that were struggling to survive, as they may now be able to resume operations on certain routes.

However, the air bubble agreement has its limitations. The number of flights under this agreement is limited, which means that only a small number of people can travel between two countries. Also, the air bubble agreement may not be a long-term solution, as it depends upon the number of COVID-19 cases and the situation can change rapidly.

Overall, the air bubble agreement is a welcome step towards resuming air travel between South Asian countries during the pandemic. It will help stranded travelers return home and revive the aviation industry, though the agreement has its limitations. It is important to continue to take precautions and follow safety protocols while travelling, to prevent the spread of COVID-19.

Comments are closed.